Panel members Bookmark and Share Button

Jo Connell OBE DL (Chair)

Jo Connell After a career in IT, Jo retired as Managing Director of Xansa plc in 2003. She was a Trustee of Help the Aged from 1991 and Chair from 2004-2009 where she played a key role in facilitating and supporting the charity’s merger with Age Concern England to create Age UK, the UK’s largest older people’s charity.

Since 2001 Jo’s roles have included being a Non Executive Director at many information technology and communications companies including RM plc and THUS Group plc. Jo was also Chair of the Hospice of St Francis, Berkhamsted, Master of the Information Technologists’ Company in 2008/9 and Pro Chancellor and Chair of the Board of Governors at the University of Hertfordshire until August 2013.

Jo is currently Chair of the Worshipful Company of Information Technologists charity and a trustee of the Hertfordshire Community Foundation. In 2008 Jo was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant for Hertfordshire. In 2012 she was awarded the OBE for services to older people. 


Amanda Britain (Member for Scotland)

Amanda Britain

Amanda has experience spanning research, public services, and organisational change in Scotland.  In all roles, she has championed the interests of people who are socially or economically excluded. She is currently supporting Scotland’s national Technology Enabled Care Programme, is an advisor with Life Changes Trust dementia programme, and an associate with Healthcare Improvement Scotland.

In 2012, Amanda was appointed a Board Member of the Chartered Institute of Housing in Scotland, and in 2016 was elected Chair.  She is Vice Chair of Iriss, a charitable company that aims to build the capacity and capability of the social services workforce in Scotland, and a member of Alzheimer Scotland’s Human Rights and Public Policy Committee.

In parallel, Amanda has chaired the Peter Gibson Memorial Fund, which in September 2016 published Championing Consumers, a history of consumer advocacy in Scotland 1974-2014.


Jaya Chakrabarti

Jaya ChakrabartiAfter two and a half degrees in Physics/Materials (University of Bristol) Jaya set up Big Red Square Ltd (then in 1999 as a search engine company.  Following Google the company went for plan B, a digital media company, Nameless Media Group Ltd.  Jaya and her team have built Nameless into an award winning agency.






Rick Hill, MBE (Member for Northern Ireland)

Following degrees in Applied Maths and Church History, Rick worked as a parish minister for 17 years. He left church work in 2007 to develop a portfolio career. He is Owner/Director of Titanic Gap Ltd, Media Consultancy. He is Chairman of the Consumer Council (Northern Ireland) and Deputy Chair of the Independent Press Standards Organisation.

He has previously been Chair of Northern Ireland Screen Commission, Chair of Consumer Focus Post and member of the Consumer Focus UK Board, a member of the BBC Audience Council for Northern Ireland and BBC Broadcasting Council for Northern Ireland. He was made MBE for services to Broadcast Media  2014


Chris Holland  (Member for England)

Chris Holland

Chris Holland was Head of Specialist Dispute Resolution at BT where he was responsible for a wide range of specialist customer service areas, including all aspects of BT’s membership of Ombudsman services: communications. He helped implement the telecommunications ombudsman service (Otelo), and until March 2011 was a non-executive director of the Ombudsman Service Ltd.  He was Chairman of the Otelo Members Board between 2006-2011. Chris held a number of customer services roles in BT, including heading the Chairman and Chief Executive’s Service Office between 1987-2001. He was Chairman of the Postal Redress Scheme (POSTRS) between 2013-2015; and was an organisation healthcheck consultant with Time to Change (a mental health charity).

 A qualified counsellor, Chris has done voluntary work with young people. Currently he acts as a consultant across all dispute resolution schemes offered by IDRS Ltd, including the Communications and Internet Services Adjudication Scheme (CISAS); he runs his own consultancy company; and he is a member of the Voice of the Listener and Viewer.  Chris was also appointed as Independent Complaint Reviewer for the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution (CEDR) in November 2016.


Craig Tillotson

Craig Tillotson

Craig has enjoyed a successful and varied career over the last 30 years in the telecommunications and payments industries as a business unit leader, board director and strategy consultant.  He gained substantial operations and strategic management experience within Vodafone and T-Mobile Groups.  From 2001 to 2003 he was Product Management Director for Vodafone UK launching Vodafone Live and the original Mobile Broadband product set.  In 2003 he became Strategy and Wholesale Director and in 2007 took over the leadership of the UK Consumer Business Unit.

Craig graduated from Cambridge University with a degree in Computer Science and spent the early part of his career as a strategy consultant with McKinsey & Company. For many years he was a specialist telecommunications reserve officer in the Royal Corps of Signals where he was awarded the Territorial Decoration (TD).

In 2012 Craig was appointed as the first Chief Executive of the Faster Payments Scheme Limited.  Craig is also a director and Executive Chairman of Paym, the cross-industry mobile payments service launched in 2014.

In 2014 he was also appointed by the Financial Conduct Authority to be a member of the new Payment Systems Regulator’s statutory Panel.


Richard Williams

Richard Williams

Richard Williams is the Managing Director of Freeney Williams Ltd, a disability and diversity consultancy. He is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development, an Associate of both Business Disability International and the Business Disability Forum and is the Chair of Age UK Brighton and Hove.

 Rick is a experienced consultant and trainer with expertise in all areas of disability and their impact on individuals and organisations.



Member for Wales - recruitment in progress