Our cookies

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website.
You can allow or reject non essential cookies or manage them individually.

Reject allAllow all

More options  •  Cookie policy

Our cookies

Allow all

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website. You can allow all or manage them individually.

You can find out more on our cookie page at any time.

EssentialThese cookies are needed for essential functions such as logging in and making payments. Standard cookies can’t be switched off and they don’t store any of your information.
AnalyticsThese cookies help us collect information such as how many people are using our site or which pages are popular to help us improve customer experience. Switching off these cookies will reduce our ability to gather information to improve the experience.
FunctionalThese cookies are related to features that make your experience better. They enable basic functions such as social media sharing. Switching off these cookies will mean that areas of our website can’t work properly.

Save preferences

Communications Consumer Panel welcomes new members

14 March 2013

Panel Chair, Jo Connell this month gave an update to stakeholders on the Panel’s formation. She explained that the Panel now has eight Members with experience in a range of different fields. There are four Members of the Panel who represent the interests of consumers, citizens and small businesses in England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales respectively. They liaise with the key stakeholders in the Nations to understand the perspectives of consumers in all parts of the UK and input these perspectives to the Panel’s consideration of issues. These Members also attend the Ofcom Advisory Committee for each nation to ensure a two-way communication of ideas.

To take advantage of the synergy between the Panel and Ofcom’s Advisory Committee on Older and Disabled People (ACOD) and to avoid potential duplication, cross-membership of the two bodies was established in Summer 2012. The remits of the bodies remain unchanged. This means that Members, in their ACOD capacity, also provide advice to Ofcom on issues relating to older and disabled people including television, radio and other content on services regulated by Ofcom as well as about issues concerning the postal sector.

Jo highlighted that the Panel will continue to engage with stakeholders to inform the advice that it gives to Ofcom and to help keep the interests of consumers, citizens and small businesses on the agenda across the sector. And Members will maintain their engagement with a range of other organisations working on behalf of these constituencies - including those representing older and disabled people.

 The Panel Members are:

  • Jo Connell OBE DL (Chair)
  • Kim Brook, Member for Wales
  • Jaya Chakrabarti
  • Chris Holland, Member for England
  • Libby Kinney, Member for Northern Ireland
  • Mairi MacLeod, Member for Scotland
  • Craig Tillotson
  • Bob Twitchin

Further information on our Panel Members can be found on our website; http://www.communicationsconsumerpanel.org.uk/panel-members


If you have any difficulties accessing content on this page, please email us at contact@communicationsconsumerpanel.org.uk